Surface RT or Surface Pro

So, I went out and bought RT when it was released, well, I didn’t actually go out and buy it, but ordered it online. I like the weight and battery life. Unfortunately, it does not support my Canon MF 4270 printer. I was really hoping for print functionality.

 

So, after using it for three months and weighing the pro’s and con’s of the Surface Pro, I went to the local Microsoft Store to buy one.  I have 14 days to take it back without paying a restock fee. I’m 7 days in so far.  I have mixed opinions.

 

I really like the screen clarity much more on the Pro than the RT.  One day it made my eyes hurt, or I think it did. After that, I figured I’d take it back. I can’t use a device that is going to make my eyes hurt.  I had been using the desktop and had scaling at 125%.  Anyway, I reset the device and packaged it up.

About a day later I unpackaged it and set it up again. I couldn’t let it go.  Certain things are seeming to be more important than I thought. Printing, the screen is still a plus. My eyes haven’t started hurting yet.  Knowing I can run any desktop app I want.  It was always frustrating the know that I needed to change devices to get something else done.  I’m giving up battery life and weight. 

The guy I spoke with at the Microsoft Store said they do have some kind of program for buying RT devices.  Sounded like I could get something somewhat decent money wise.  We shall see. I certainly don’t need this, plus the RT, plus a full laptop. I do need the laptop for all of my music and photos to sync to my devices.

I also bought the warranty package. I was told I could take this back, pay a $50 deductible and get a new battery.  I’m torn, but leaning towards keeping the Pro.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment